Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2006, 12:38 PM   #1
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

Roof Trussels


Is there a way i could use roof trussels on a block building and how many do i need im putting them on a 35X30 block building.

Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 05:47 PM   #2
General Contractor
 
joasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 876
Default

Roof Trussels


Of course, you build the walls and plate the top, treated, and attach as they would on any framed wall.

You know Chuck, from reading your posts, I admire you with trying this project, but you should try to get familiar with building practices before you get in over your head. Just laying the block is a task in itself, and even though I have done it, I hire it out. That, like doing the floor (flatwork) is a skill not aquired overnight. Just a word of caution.

joasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 08:06 PM   #3
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Roof Trussels


i do have experience in pouring a concrete floor actually many floors just never laying block, but i have a buddy that has laid the block out around my forms and hes showed me how to lay them and hes gonna help me alittle bit but eh ya know u can always learn from ya mistakes
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 08:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Darylh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nanoose Bay Vancouver Island BC
Posts: 460
Default

Roof Trussels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckman
Is there a way i could use roof trussels on a block building and how many do i need im putting them on a 35X30 block building.
Don't forget to put in your anchor bolts while your pouring the holes in the block up. 8x8x16 block will require a 2x8 top sill plate with sill plate gasket under it. Roff trusses are every 2 feet so length of building divided by 2 plus 1. If your going with 2 foot overhange you will need 2 of your trusses drop Trusses even though some guys use the drop truss method on even 12 inch overhang which I tend to agree with( a hell of a lot stronger than just hangeing 2x4s off the plywood).
Darylh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 03:44 PM   #5
Construction Man
 
Chuckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Default

Roof Trussels


i got 18.5 trusses and i dont need much of an overhang just as long as my roof is on there lol
Chuckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help with the design of this roof jaymay75 Building & Construction 1 05-06-2008 09:44 AM
Flat roof - Rolled? - leaks Advice? JJ2001 Roofing/Siding 4 11-19-2006 06:17 AM
Venting a shed roof with 2/12 slope atulc Roofing/Siding 5 08-25-2006 07:28 AM
Roof Trussels Chuckman Roofing/Siding 2 05-29-2006 09:01 AM
Need Help on the Flat Roof and more... MelindaA Roofing/Siding 12 12-21-2005 10:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.