Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2011, 12:17 PM   #1
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Share |
Default

Roman Ogee


What are the rules behind designing a Roman ogee? It seems to me that there are some general rules that layout the proportions.

WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 12:22 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Roman Ogee


You want to design a router bit?

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 01:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Default

Roman Ogee


Quote:
Originally Posted by WirelessG View Post
What are the rules behind designing a Roman ogee? It seems to me that there are some general rules that layout the proportions.
I always make sure there are enough togas available.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 03:36 PM   #4
Stair builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 252
Default

Roman Ogee


I'm guessing you are trying to determine the size of the ogee relative to other aspects of a form? In traditional architectural design there are rules about the size of things based on proportions of column height, diameter, etc. Here is a link which may help http://georgewalkerdesign.wordpress.com/. He also has a dvd out which covers things in detail.

Last edited by Keith Mathewson; 03-27-2011 at 03:38 PM.
Keith Mathewson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 03:55 PM   #5
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Roman Ogee


No, I'm trying to find out how you draw an ogee. I knew how to do it at one point, but I can't remeber anymore. I'm making two entry gate that will have an ogee for a top profile. I can wing it if needed, but I would rather draw it correctly from the start.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Model.pdf (6.8 KB, 91 views)
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 05:34 PM   #6
Stair builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 252
Default

Roman Ogee


There are a couple of ways to do it but for what you want it might be easiest to draw a straight line from the high point at the middle of the gate to the edge. Find the middle of the line and mark it. Lightly freehand the curve you want. Now take a compass and set to about the radius needed place one point on one high point and swing and arc. Next put one point on the middle of the line and swing an arc. Where they intersect place a point and swing and arc through the line, adjust until desired arc is reached.
Keith Mathewson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 08:26 PM   #7
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Roman Ogee


Here's what I came up with.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Gate Model (1).pdf (19.3 KB, 94 views)
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:45 PM   #8
Stair builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 252
Default

Roman Ogee


It looks good, do you know how to determine your radius points to swing your arcs?
Keith Mathewson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:51 PM   #9
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Roman Ogee


Thanks. What I did was pick a spot where I wanted to put a point of inflection, drew an arc, and then mirrored it twice, and those two arcs combined gave me on side of the ogee. I let CAD tell me what the radius is.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:56 PM   #10
Stair builder
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 252
Default

Roman Ogee


I understand, will it tell you where to set the radius point to run a router?
Keith Mathewson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 11:01 PM   #11
uva uvam videndo variafit
 
WirelessG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: W by God VA (bye MS )
Posts: 558
Default

Roman Ogee


It should, but I'd have to fool with it to figure out what the command is. How would you go about getting the center?

After Thought: I guess by striking an arc back from two points on the curve and using the appropriate radius.


Last edited by WirelessG; 03-27-2011 at 11:05 PM.
WirelessG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So is it this easy? (Roman Shades) DownRiverGuy Interior Decorating 1 01-26-2011 09:35 AM
Roman Facut - Replace Delta w/American Standard mormegil Plumbing 1 11-29-2010 07:37 PM
greetings from Roman Roman Introductions 0 11-09-2010 11:31 PM
Replacing Moen Roman Tub Faucet - How to get out old hardware? mav1c Plumbing 1 08-09-2010 09:57 AM
roman shower valve rebec Plumbing 0 08-06-2010 03:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.