The Right Tool For A Table Top?? - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-29-2010, 05:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

The right tool for a Table Top??

I'm starting a small project of making a table. I've seen lots of different methods and now I'm torn between which tool is going to acheive the best results for the table top surface. Do I use a Planer Thickener? or will a Planer Jointer do the job without the Thickener part?

Also, ultimately, what gives the table top it's smooth finish (excluding the final sanding)? The thickener or the planer?

Thanks for any advise!

Advertisement

jono654321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,180

I have been woodworking for 30 years, and I have never heard the term thickener used in conjunction with a planer. A planer jointer is typically used to put an edge on a board for glue up, and can also be used to flatten a board . A planer typically reduces a board down from say 1 inch to 3/4 inch, and gives it a decent (far from perfect) finish. All the tables I have ever built I start with either planed or rough boards with one finished edge. Then I glue up the top, and if it is rough wood I hand plane the top, then finish with an orbital sander. If the boards are already planed, I use the orbital sander, finishing at somewhere around 400 grit. The final finish I do by hand, sometimes with a scraper, sometimes with 600 grit wet dry sandpaper, depending on the type of finish (polyurethane, oil, lacquer) I am going to use.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Daniel Holzman For This Useful Post:
jono654321 (09-30-2010)
Old 09-30-2010, 02:09 PM   #3
uva uvam videndo variafit

Rewards Points: 500