Retiling Half The Wall - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-12-2008, 04:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Retiling half the wall

Hey guys,

I joined this forum about 2 weeks ago for my electrical issue and read alot of useful threads and figured everything out without even asking in the forum. This place is great!

Well its now time to move on to my next project. I can use some tips/advice on how to accomplish it. Its my basement shower, when i bought the house i knew i had to replace/re-tile half the wall (where the fixtures are). How should i start, remove half the tiles and cut out half the backboard and just replace? Is that it? or do i need to remove all the tiles on the wall and replace the hole backboard?

Is it backboard or backerboard?

thanks guys as you can tell i'm a novice but a fast learner

thanks
- O

Advertisement

omanalansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 06:40 PM   #2
Licensed Contractor

Rewards Points: 75

Retiling half the wall

Backboards are for basketball, backerboards are for tile. And were I you, I would remove the tile from the whole wall, install new backer, and retile. Depending on what you find, it might be prudent to retile all the walls.
If you decide to only remove half the backer, you need to remove more than half the tile so freshlaid tile will cover the backer seam. Again, the job will look much better if the whole wall is done.
Enjoy.

Advertisement

Renovator,LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 08:33 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Retiling half the wall

That's good advice. Also remember that the backerboard seams and corners should be taped with backerboard tape and mudded with thinset. That will be hard to do unless the entire wall is removed and replaced. The backerboard should also be waterproofed before tiling as well.