Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-20-2009, 09:46 AM   #1

Share |

Requesting help with Flower Box Repair

Hello Everyone. I hope I am posting this question in the appropriate forum. I am new to this forum and just starting to learn about all things related to home repair(I am a real beginner). I have a question in regards to reapairing some flower boxes. I have several flower boxes attached to the top of my deck posts. These boxes have started to split at the seams. My plan is to remove all the dirt and plant material from the boxes clamp the two sides that are separated so that they are closer together and then use a finishing nailer to re nail them tight. My problem is I can not find a clamp to clamp the wood together(I am a one man show so I don't really have anyone to just squeeze the separating parts together while I nail them). I have tried clamps such as the ones in the pics I have included but they can not seem to clamp at the angle I need. So, Basically I have 2 questions:

1.) Can anyone tell me what type of clamp I can use to squeeze these separating parts together so I can nail them back together?

2.) Does this sound like the best way to do this repair?

I have included pictures of both the flower boxes and the clamps I attempted to use. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
Requesting help with Flower Box Repair-img_0465.jpg   Requesting help with Flower Box Repair-img_0466.jpg   Requesting help with Flower Box Repair-img_0467.jpg   Requesting help with Flower Box Repair-img_0468.jpg  

Future Woodworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2009, 10:08 AM   #2

It looks like it's time to just chuck 'em and rebuild, you're a woodworker right? They sides look warped, so even if you clamp 'em together and biscuit/glue/nail, they're going to look like hell.