Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-11-2011, 09:44 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Removing 2x4 supports on attic joists

Hi there - TOTAL newbie here, so be gentle! Total DIY'er, look forward to asking/helping!

I am laying some 3/4" OSB flooring in my attic. It's a large attic (35x60) with full stairs leading up, and joists 16" OC. Just for storage, now finishing completely...right now

My question is that, in two spots on the joists, there are 2x4's running perpendicular to the joists. Looks like two 2x4's about 18 ft long, slightly overlapped (tried to attach picture - hope it worked, and helps). On each side of the each 2x4 there is a 2x6 nailed to it. These constructs are not connected on either end to, well, anything - they just stop. The issue is that in two spots they interrupt the flow of the floor.

My assumption (yes I know - scary word!) is that these were installed when the house was built to provide some level of support to keep the joists aligned. My question is, since I am installing the flooring, and screwing it to the joists, can I safely remove these as the flooring will keep all in alignment?

Thanks for any and all help!
Attached Thumbnails
Removing 2x4 supports on attic joists-img00064-20110111-2121-1-.jpg   Removing 2x4 supports on attic joists-img00063-20110111-2121-1-.jpg  

sbooth1440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:53 PM   #2
Framing Contractor

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by sbooth1440 View Post
Hi there - TOTAL newbie here, so be gentle! Total DIY'er, look forward to asking/helping!

I am laying some 3/4" OSB flooring in my attic. It's a large attic (35x60) with full stairs leading up, and joists 16" OC. Just for storage, now finishing completely...right now