Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-06-2008, 11:22 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Reinforcing Door Jambs - How?

OK, some of you might have been involved in my rotten door sill thread but I thought this question warranted its own post!

If a door is going to be replaced, or work is going to be done so that the door frame construction is exposed, how would one go about reinforcing the door jamb against a kick-in or other forced entry?

I know there are several products on the market, (any recommendations) and some people have mentioned even running thin sheet metal strapping up the jamb along with longer and more screws.

Again, not being a carpenter, I'm looking for suggestions so that I can have an intelligent conversation with my carpenter.

I know that any residential door can be breached with time, I just want as much time as possible if it were to ever happen. I want the effort to get through the door to be higher.

Here's some stuff I found...Anybody use any of these?

http://anarchangel.blogspot.com/2006...-entrance.html

http://www.kikgard.com/quality.html

http://www.thenationallocksmith.com/public.asp?2

http://www.djarmor.com/Universal-Com...&category=-101

If true, it does not seem to be that much more in the cost department if it works.

Thoughts? Experiences?

Thanks!

NNJGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 11:41 AM   #2

I have lots of experience with this. The city I previously worked for had a very tough security ordinance. The "jamb brace" product door retrofit kit is very effective. I am 6'6" 300lbs, and I couldn't kick in their demo door. The SWAT team was involved in the implementation of the security ordinance, because they can't effectively ram the latch side of the door with this system in place...They have to hit the center and fold the door in.

http://www.jambbrace.com/