Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2009, 08:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Range hood venting


Installing venting for a new range hood over an electric range. The vent is hung where it has to go and calls for a 6" round vent pipe. Since I need to go thru the wall directly, I have a 90 degree elbow which conveniently is bisected by a 2 x 6 wall stud from 0 - 2" inside the vent. My options appear to be to cut the stud and scab it on the other side with a 2 x 4 or somehow get a 6 - 4 reducer to bypass the problem without cutting.


Suggestions?

rdm440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range hood venting


Do you have enough space to offset sideways with a 45 degree and then go through with your 90

Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 10:24 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Range hood venting


You need to maintain the 6" duct all the way to the terminus. Cut the stud and box the space as you would installing an A/C.
Ron
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:50 PM   #4
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
You need to maintain the 6" duct all the way to the terminus. Cut the stud and box the space as you would installing an A/C.
Ron
I don't mean to hijack this thread but I am installing an over the range microwave.

I added a wet wall (2x4) to encase the plumbing so I can run the duct up there. What materials do you use to box the vent ? Thermopan sheets?
DOn't you worry about the greasy odor leaking out?

Which is better,wall or roof vent?

thanks Tina
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 06:15 AM   #5
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbelt Tina View Post
Which is better,wall or roof vent?
The best is whatever is shortest and has the least amount of turns. All else equal, I believe roof venting is better because hot air naturally rises, so you'd have that working for you. But so long as the run isn't far and you don't have many bends, either wall or roof will work just fine.
adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 08:21 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 9,519
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbelt Tina View Post
I don't mean to hijack this thread but I am installing an over the range microwave.

I added a wet wall (2x4) to encase the plumbing so I can run the duct up there. What materials do you use to box the vent ? Thermopan sheets?
DOn't you worry about the greasy odor leaking out?

Which is better,wall or roof vent?

thanks Tina
I don't know what you mean by, "box the vent". your microwave probably will use the 3x 10" rectangular metal duct. Where you put the pieces together, you use metal tape to seal the joint. As stated before, the shorter the run, the better. The instructions will tell you the longest run allowed. Just realize it's not just linear feet they're talking about. Every bend is like adding 5 feet to the run due to the restrictive nature of a 90 degree turn.
Ron.
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:02 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Range hood venting


As Ron says reducing the vent is not recommened, it will make the fan not only work harder, and will cause the fan to be much louder. Go around it or cut the stud.
Mop in Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 10:19 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Range hood venting


Toolbelt tina, do not box that vent in as you would with a cold air return duct. It is not allowed by code nor is it a good idea. Using anything other than a smooth metal interior is asking for a grease trap.
Mop in Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:45 PM   #9
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
I don't know what you mean by, "box the vent".
Ron.
I was reading your earlier advice in the thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
You need to maintain the 6" duct all the way to the terminus. Cut the stud and box the space as you would installing an A/C.
Ron
sorry if I misunderstood.
cheers Tina
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 08:57 PM   #10
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mop in Hand View Post
Toolbelt tina, do not box that vent in as you would with a cold air return duct. It is not allowed by code nor is it a good idea. Using anything other than a smooth metal interior is asking for a grease trap.
That was my thinking that you needed a solid piece vent re the grease.

This a cottage. After cooking my first meal I turned on the fan over the stove. I noticed the fan wasn't pulling in the air. Opened the cupboard above to discover no vent. And the cabinets were second hand so there was a hole for a vent. Not even a charcoal filter.

Can I take the rectangular duct and convert it to a flexible round duct of the same diameter?

Do they sell pieces of preformed ducts (straight run) or do I have to form my own?

Sorry I don't venture down that aisle much @ Lowes.
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 09:26 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,968
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Range hood venting


Lowes has a selection of ducting and fittings. You may need a transition: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...12H&lpage=none

And a roof termination: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...34M&lpage=none

And an elbow, some straight pipe that comes flat, and some foil tape for all joints (even elbow). It comes in a few diameters, depending on the hood manufacturer's recommendation. Support the pipe in the attic, and a few screws in the joints, little sheet metal self-starters.

Or buy the whole package: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...377&lpage=none And maybe more straight pipe. Be safe, G
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:00 PM   #12
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by GBAR in WA View Post
Lowes has a selection of ducting and fittings. You may need a transition: http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...12H&lpage=none
etc
thanks for the links GBAR. Can I use flexible round ducting?
toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 10:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Range hood venting


Flexible ducting is not allowed, the interior must be smooth metal.
Mop in Hand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 06:23 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Range hood venting


Also 3 srews per joint (code) and seal with FOIL tape
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 03:02 PM   #15
Member
 
toolbelt Tina's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Range hood venting


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mop in Hand View Post
Flexible ducting is not allowed, the interior must be smooth metal.
thanks for the info Mop.
I was hoping to use a flex duct easier to work with. I'll get out the aviation snips then.

thanks Tina

toolbelt Tina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood through the wall - - -stud in the way pacifier1er Building & Construction 30 05-21-2013 09:23 AM
suggestions on contructing a range hood steve1234 Carpentry 15 08-30-2010 10:35 PM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM
Range Hood venting questions Crashless Remodeling 5 04-13-2008 09:30 PM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 04:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.