Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2009, 08:35 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rail Rake Height...


are the ballusters precut so rail height is a given?

tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:47 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rail Rake Height...


Thanks....called....wow...it's 31.5 inches minimum here. We may be able to do it, if me move closer to the nose of the tread.
Melanie337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 09:16 AM   #18
Member
 
47_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Springville, NY
Posts: 1,477
Rewards Points: 542
Default

Rail Rake Height...


Glad to hear that you can make it work. Stairs and handrails take a lot of stress, overkill the mounting. I recommend using a double ended lag (LJ Smith calls them Dowel-FastT Screws) and glue to securely fasten the balusters to the treads.

Post some pics when you're done.
__________________
What we've got here is... failure to communicate. Some men you just can't reach. So you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it... well, he gets it.
47_47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 03:42 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rail Rake Height...


To properly measure the rake height, the tape measure must be in line with the riser below the tread. Melanie337, if you'll carefully read the graphic in your post (which happens to be my copyrighted graphic from hubpages) it will explain this: http://hubpages.com/hub/Stairways--geometry-and-measurements.
Use a 4 foot level and line the face of the level with the riser below the tread. In the graphic you would position the level exactly with the short baluster. Mark the intersection of the level with the top of the handrail and you have it.

Last edited by archturn; 12-23-2009 at 03:46 PM.
archturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 02:38 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rail Rake Height...


archturn....thank's for the use of the picture
You are saying to measure above the riser when everyone else is saying to measure at the nose of the tread. i am more confused than ever now. M
Melanie337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 02:48 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rail Rake Height...


i know visually the balluster wants to align near the riser. if this is where they measure from this helps you
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 02:58 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rail Rake Height...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Melanie337 View Post
archturn....thank's for the use of the picture
You are saying to measure above the riser when everyone else is saying to measure at the nose of the tread. i am more confused than ever now. M
Notice in the graphic that the face of the short baluster is in line with the riser below it. When I was installing stairways, I would place a 4' level exactly where the short baluster was going to go. The face of the level would be placed exactly where the face of the baluster would go. If you plumb the level vertically, the point where the level face and handrail intersect is your rail height.
archturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 03:15 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rail Rake Height...


arch....that is what i'm questioning. it looks to me like you are measuring at the front face of the short baluster. I'm understanding that this is not correct. Everything I've read indicates that the measurement must be from the nose of the tread straight up to the top of the rail. What am I missing? Measuring from nose...see pic. Quote from code..."Handrail
height, measured vertically from the sloped plane adjoining the tread nosing, or finish surface of ramp slope, shall be not less than..."
Attached Thumbnails
Rail Rake Height...-snag-02.jpg  
Melanie337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 03:20 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rail Rake Height...


thats where i always measured from but i thought maybe code had changed
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 03:22 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rail Rake Height...


tpolk...you are correct in that it would help me if the correct place to measure was above the riser...but I have read and been told enough at this point to know that is incorrect. M
Melanie337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 04:03 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Rail Rake Height...


is this going to be inspected, have you asked if your finished height will pass or if you can get a variance. did you draw it out on the floor/ cardboard to see what you really have before you assemble. also if you explain you can't return your product the inspections may work with you especialy after they see the exquisite way you have done the install
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 04:07 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Rail Rake Height...


tpolk...yup, it's been drawn to death...and to scale in AutoCad...and we made up a sample section to double check the measurements. We are just a bit shorter than code but might be able to cut the top angles a bit higher than planned as long as the fillet strips hide the gap. That, plus moving closer to the nose, will get us there i think. This has been confusing and too close for comfort. Thanks! M
Melanie337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 05:13 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rail Rake Height...


I've done some stairs in my day, and I've never seen the rake measured at the riser position. All codes I've worked under required measurements be taken at the nose of the tread as Melanie states. Be careful.
BumperCrop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:22 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Rail Rake Height...


OK I'll have to backtrack on this one - sorry for the confusion. Please see page 9 , R316.1: http://www.archturnings.com/msc_files/staircode.pdf

archturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Chair Rail up staircase? tomrash Carpentry 7 07-14-2011 12:42 PM
Why can't I find a good thatch rake or pine needle rake? carl1864 Landscaping & Lawn Care 5 06-05-2011 01:01 PM
Raising chair rail height naomi Interior Decorating 2 07-12-2009 01:50 PM
The moving Ice Dams after using a roof rake ?? Canufixit Roofing/Siding 9 02-05-2009 07:33 PM
Safety rail for loft Pam Remodeling 5 02-26-2007 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.