Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-18-2011, 09:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Rafter length mistakes. Help

When cutting rafter i always have the samw problem,

Measure span
- 1 1/2 for ridge
divide by 2 for my run, my rise is set
Put all the info into calc and angle is right but my seat cut is always about a half inch off the wall, ridge is level. So i have no idea why i need to minus a half inch off my rafter lenght to get the seat to be touching the wall, any help?
Yes im a carpenter

Selectadon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 08:47 AM   #2

Wow 53 views and no replies???????

Old 07-19-2011, 09:04 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,002

Select,
Not sure what you are doing wrong. I don't use a calculator though. I lay my rafters out with a framing square. Is you 1/2" not touching the vertical surface of the wall or the horizontal surface of the top plate? Also, when figuring the height of your ridge, are you taking into consideration your 'height above plate' where your birdsmouth sits on the plate? There was a good article on this that came from one of my email subscriptions, can't remember which one though. The HAP dimension adds to your overall ridge height and should be subtracted from your initial ridge height to get the true height. The HAP is that little add on that has you scratching your head when you are trying to set your ridge height going by your rise that you calculate from your pitch numbers. Sounds confusing, but it may be the difference that's causing your seat cut to be off a bit.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:52 AM   #4
Ole Wood Worker

Rewards Points: 2,272