Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-25-2013, 11:11 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 77
Question

Questions about corners when standing up walls

Hi Folks,

I'm a beginner here attempting to build a shed in my backyard. I've done mostly stick building in the past and was able to work my way through the corners. I wanted to try a shed as a learning exercise. I'll list my question first, because the description of my problem is long.

Question:
Can you help my understand the proper method for laying out studs when constructing exterior walls on the ground such that the corners will be able to be nailed together easily?

Background:
My main area of concern is how corners will come out. I had read online which detailed where to position my first stud on a wall, 15 1/4" - size of sheathing from the edge of the wall, which seems reasonable. However, I could see based on the length of my wall I will end up at the opposite end of the wall with two studs very near each other. The location of the second to last stud, prevents me from being able to nail the corner together. So I can think of a few ways to work around this: one, add another board as a nailer for that corner or, two, perhaps I leave out that second to last stud so I can nail my corner together and add it later. Neither case seems right to me though. A third option would be to do the studs in the opposite direction, but then that throws out my spacing for the sheathing on the edge.

mklein49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 02:25 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 3,110

http://wayneofthewoods.com/Tiphowtoframeawallcorner.htm
Adding that extra stud after the walls are up and nailed is fine to do that way.

Old 08-25-2013, 06:32 PM   #3
journeyman carpenter

Rewards Points: 2,056