Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-30-2007, 05:50 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Questions about attaching MDF trim

I'm adding some trim to my kitchen cabinet doors and since it was cheaper and the size I wanted, I ended up with primed MDF. I've never used MDF before so I have 3 questions.

1) do I need to pre-drill like I do with real wood? The trim is 2.75" and 1" about 3/8" thick and I don't own a nail gun.
2) the store sold me MDF screws but since I am glueing can't I just use some finishing nails?
3) since the MDF is primed (although the 1" stuff isn't on the back) and my cupboards are painted, will yellow wood glue work or should I be using something else? (part B, what would 'something else' be?)

Dusty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 09:15 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Yellow glue won't hold very well, but you don't need it to hold much.

MDF trim is nice for painted work, because it is very smooth, but it can tend to protrude around nail holes, IME. So for your purpose, I think the ideal would be to avoid nailing at all.

Is this just small trim being applied to doors, etc? Is it a very flat trim being applied to a clean flat painted surface?

I think you might have good luck with contact cement. Mask off the area on the door so a strip just an 1/8" narrower than the trim is exposed. Apply contact cement to the back of the trim and to the door area where the trim will go. Allow the contact cement to set for a few minutes, until tacky. Remove the tape, and press on the trim.

The alternative is to nail, but then you'll need to fill the holes, and without a pin nailer, you're going to blemish the trim somewhat, and I'm not sure you'll be able to completely cover that. You can use joint compound for nail holes if you need to.

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 10:03 AM   #3