Puttying Windows - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-03-2009, 11:16 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

Puttying windows

I am new to the DIY forums and was not sure where to post these questions. I need to re-putty around my windows and need to know how far do I have to insert the points to hold in the windows. I bought a putty called Dap window putty. I also need to know what kind of paint do I need to use to paint betweem the windows and the storm windows. Should I use a flat paint or a satin exterior paint? Any help you might be able to give me would be appreciated. Thank you in advance for helping a lady in distress.

Advertisement

Wendy Sue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 12:22 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Puttying windows

Some glazing points have stops on them, so you just push the points in until they hit the mullion. The little diamond points are inserted so they are below the putty line. If the rest of the panes have a shallow putty profile, pick the glazing point best suited to your setup.
If you strip the old putty and find unpainted wood, prime it first. Install the putty and top coat it with an exterior paint with some sheen, it's easier to clean then a flat paint.
Ron

Advertisement

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 01:52 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 250

Puttying windows