DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Porch roof tie in question

22K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Termite 
#1 ·
Hello. I am a novice remodeler. I am preparing to start building a 10’ x 14’ porch next spring. The 14’ section will be running against the house. I am studying up on several design topics to make sure that I build the porch properly. The porch will be replacing an existing deck on the back of our 2-story brick home. Note: The existing deck will be demolished including the posts and footers because I already know the footers are insufficient to carry the porch load.

I am considering 2 options for the porch roof. The first is to construct a shed roof where I would attach a ledger to the house using 1/2" bolts and tie the roof in that way. I plan on building the walls to 8 ft. In this design, would the rafters sit on the roof ledger? If so, and I want at least a 2/12 pitch, doesn't that mean the ledger would have to be attached to the house above the second floor band joist (note: our house has 8 foot walls on both floors).

Option number 2 which is more preferable to us (for aesthetic reasons) is to construct a gable roof on the porch with a 4/12 pitch. The gable ends would run perpendicular to the wall of the house. I am at a loss as to how I would tie the rafters (or ridge beam) in to the house in this design. :eek: I appreciate any advice.

#2 ·
There are soooo many variables to this.

Sounds like the new roof will attach to the house's walls and will not intersect any of the existing roof. Right?

Normally, the existing structure of the house is used to support the ridge, which is installed perpindicular to the house's wall. The wall is opened to facilitate installation of bearing studs to take the load from the ridge. If the ridge's or roof's load will be transfered to a wall that sits atop a cantilevered floor, that would be a major obstacle.