Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-21-2009, 09:14 PM   #1

Share |

Is a pocket jig the way to go?

I was just reading a post by Bueller on the rad covers he built (very nice!) and saw he used a Kreg pocket jig. This is the first time I've seen this tool (I'm a newbie) and I'm intrigued! I went to the Kreg website and watched their videos.

I will be building my fireplace wood surround/mantle soon and had thought I'd connect the arched top center piece (56" wide) of wood to the leg back (10") with dowels. Why dowels? No real reason. I have NO experience with dowels or anything else, I just read/saw where they had connected wood using dowels so I thought that's what I would have to do. Now I'm thinking using the pocket jig would be much easier when handling this large a project and would give me greater precision placement.

I'm okay with buying a tool for this project as long as it is one I'll use again. (any excuse to buy a great new tool is good for me) This Kreg tool looks like something I'd use again - looks handy. Or should I be looking at using something else?

For those of you who have the Kreg pocket jig - which one do you have, is it as easy to use as the video shows?

How would you connect these two pieces of wood? This shows the wood surround design: What Tool should I use for this?

TIA! Rox

roxksears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 10:36 PM   #2

I love my Kreg jig, I found many projects to use it on, I like it because you can take the joint apart easily if you mess something up, and it is an incredibly strong joint, and with their screws its about impossible to split the wood. It's pricey at $100 but a great tool to have.

naehring2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:40 AM   #3

Thanks for sharing.