Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2009, 11:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

pnuematic nailers

Hey everyone i am new to this forum and i am looking for some nail guns for a coffee table i am going to build. I cant decide to either go with a brad nailer or a finish nailer. The coffee table will have 2x4s used in it but also a lot of 1x4s. what do you all think. i am new to this pnuematic nail gun thing. so if any advice would be great. also could anyone tell me more info about all these types of nailers and a framing nail gun. what they are used for things of that nature. thanks everyone

manofs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 12:23 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

pnuematic nailers

16 gauge trim nailers are probably more versatile than brad nailers. You can shoot longer nails with them. 18 gauge brad nailers are primarily used for attaching smaller pieces of trim since the nails are shorter and thinner. When trimming a house you'll get much more use out of a trim nailer. I use my brad nailer a lot in my woodworking projects. For woodworking, I'd rather have a brad nailer.

A framing nailer has no use for anything but framing!

Honestly, a coffee table should be made with proper woodworking joints, which don't require nails. Simply nailing and gluing pieces together won't result in a very nice or a very solid finished product. A coffee table would be perfect for mortise and tenon joinery or pocket hole joinery. If you must use a nail gun, a 16ga trim nailer would be most appropriate.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 09:54 AM   #3
Drywall contractor

Rewards Points: 1,028

pnuematic nailers

You can often find "package" deals on guns with a compressor at the big box stores that include both types of nailers at a reasonable price.....
Old 01-17-2009, 10:41 AM   #4
Oldguy

Rewards Points: 250

pnuematic nailers