Plugging An Entrydoor - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2007, 04:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Plugging an entrydoor


Hello all,
I am in the process of replacing all of my deadbolts and handsets throughout the house and apparently the handset on the entry door has a 2 3/4 backset while the deadbolt is 2 3/8. I would like to keep everything uniform so I assume the best way to tackle the situation is to plug the hole and rebore for a 2 3/8. The door is a standard 1 3/4, and probably Fir as it is about 65 years old and definitely seasoned. Can anyone give me some tips on how to cut a 2 1/8 round plug. I think I'll be able to find some 1 3/4 stock although it will probably be poplar. It will get painted,rebored and pretty much covered by the new handset other than the 3/8 offset.
Any other tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
/Scott

Advertisement

skooterpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 05:41 PM   #2
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Plugging an entrydoor


What brand of hardware are you using?

Probably would be easier to get the backset you need versus plugging the hole.

Advertisement

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Plugging an entrydoor


thanks sammy but I really want the deadbolt and handset to line up vertically so they will look good!!!!
skooterpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 07:34 PM   #4
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Plugging an entrydoor


If your door is painted, I would make up a jig and router your plug and hole from each side. Dont do one plug all the way thru.

Have you considered moving the other lock over a little to see if you can get it to the same backset?

The only other option would be an escutheon [plate] to cover the hole without plugging.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 08:16 PM   #5
Woodworker and Contractor
 
Kingfisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 224
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Plugging an entrydoor


buy a 2 1/4" hole saw, drill a hole in the new wood you found, use this plug for the patch, glue it in and then fill the pilot hole anyway you want If the plug is a little to big set a few teeth in more then try agian have do this many times
Kingfisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging power cord in a non-grounded outlet sil Electrical 4 10-18-2007 01:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts