DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Carpentry (http://www.diychatroom.com/f14/)
-   -   opinions on my work anyone? (http://www.diychatroom.com/f14/opinions-my-work-anyone-24814/)

DangerMouse 08-06-2008 11:12 AM

opinions on my work anyone?
 
i'd like some of you guys to see this thread and let me know what you think. i'm still open to suggestions as to the newel posts.

http://www.diychatroom.com/showthrea...t=24531&page=4

:thumbup:

tnkx!

DM

jogr 08-08-2008 11:49 AM

Shouldn't the siding have been done first?

Termite 08-08-2008 11:52 AM

Love the wood, hate the brass balls. :yes: Nice work overall!

47_47 08-08-2008 01:03 PM

Agree with KC, nice looking woodwork, the brass so-so. How about a wooden cap that extends ~3/4" to 1" larger than the newell, with the top beveled like a hip roof, except not to a point and install a dentil, scotia or quarter round moulding under the cap?

Termite 08-08-2008 03:35 PM

They make some pretty nice looking copper caps as well. One of those could be modified to fit your wrapped posts.

For that matter, I've made post caps out of Ipe (and similar woods) for people before. You need a powerful tablesaw and a tenoning jig, but it looks pretty cool, and can be done with scraps of 5/4 decking.

Big Bob 08-08-2008 07:23 PM

M,dangermouse,M,

how do you like?'s are very "DANGEROUS" around here.

The workmanship looks great. it really does..

now comes the buts. Many DIY' ers and pros working on their own stuff tend to do the fun things first and get i out of proper order.

You now need to protect your nice work when you finish the siding.. and do something with the stair framing. Framing looks to rough compared to your super nice treads, rail, and balusters.

posts: I like the big brass ball, but post tops look flat and may give you water problem...end grain... cap with something with a little pitch... as advised above a copper prefab might work great.. and add the ball...

I know from your many posts on this site that you guys are working hard on your home.. and want to get it right.

DangerMouse 08-09-2008 02:20 PM

i will wrap the 2x6 framing with tread scraps to hide them, and yes, i am working hard trying to do this all myself. getting too old for this s***.... (anyone know of a good charity that wants to take this project on?) but thank you Big Bob for noticing my other posts! i have no choice but to get it right! lol the siding will slip between the guardrail and the wall, so i don't think tghat will be a problem. will post newel post pics as soon as finish them. no brass balls, just all jarrah and ipey caps. =o) thank you all for your input.

DM

Termite 08-09-2008 04:06 PM

I'd cut those newels off a little shorter too. They seem mighty tall!

DangerMouse 08-10-2008 06:55 PM

go back to page 4, i posted the finished newel pic. =o)


DM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved