Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2009, 08:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Oops - put a hole in my stairs.

I moved into a 1951 cape and found original hardwood under all the carpet. While removing the carpet to have the floors redone I ended up busting up some wood underneath one of the stairs. Because it's "curved" and I have no experience with carpentry I don't know how to fix this. Any suggestions?

I attached the pictures to this post.
Attached Thumbnails
Oops - put a hole in my stairs.-img00029-20090917-0600.jpg   Oops - put a hole in my stairs.-img00028-20090917-0600.jpg  

Last edited by dvation191; 09-17-2009 at 10:40 AM.
dvation191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 08:56 AM   #2

You'd have to fill most of the gap with wood or some sort of backer, but you could make it look good by doing 3 or 4 layers of Bondo auto body filler. It hardens quickly, but it would be a good idea to do multiple layers of it instead of one big glob. After it is dry it can be sanded, primed and painted.

Bondo is a great material and is commonly used by carpenters to fill voids, cracks, knotholes, etc.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 10:12 AM   #3

Any idea what I should use for backer behind the hole and how I should secure it?
dvation191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 10:43 AM   #4
contractor

you could cut a piece of 2x4 to the correct curve and then nail/glue/screw it into place as a backer. Then fill with bondo, sand and paint.
Meetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 10:58 AM   #5
Household Handyman

Rewards Points: 8