Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2010, 10:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


We would like to replace our range hood which currently measures 6'' high (see picture). The range hood we would like to replace it with is 7'' high and I am wondering if it is possible to install it without changing any of the cabinetry. It appears as though there is a 1'' piece (of cabinet/trim) between the current range hood and the upper cabinet. Would it be necessary for me to remove this piece and is it glued on? (I can't see any screw holes from the upper cabinet). Any suggestions/tips would be appreciated. I can provide a better picture this evening if necessary.

Thanks in advance.
Attached Thumbnails
new range hood with existing cabinets-hood_dimensions.jpg  

cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 10:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


I don't see a big problem if the new hood has a 1" exposure at the bottom - vs having to do some surgury on the cabinets. Unless there is something objectionable exposed in that 1" of the new hood. And if so, maybe a piece of trim along the exposed sides of the new hood to cover or make it look finished.

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


maybe having the new range hood stick our lower by 1" will give it more depth if that makes sense. As long as there is nothing exposed from that 1".

Are you going for stainless steel? What model? Cause I need to replace my range hood as well.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 206
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


My guess is you're not going for SS cause your range is currently white along with your dishwasher from what I can see.
llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


going for white - will replace in stainless steel when the appliances go...

Broan (@ lowes) / NuTone (@ home depot) Allure III (http://www.broan.ca/product-detail.asp?ProductID=1121)

thanks for the feedback
cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 12:54 PM   #6
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


That board on the bottom of the cabinet can be removed. It is there for two reasons. 1) spaces the vent from the doors 2) gives a greater thickness for screwing the vent to the box.
Should you remove it, be certain to use shorter screws and ensure the cabinet doors are adjusted to miss the vent.

It would look fine with the board kept in place, IMHO. Of course, you will need a 1/4 " (+/-) spacer at the back to bring it out to the ceramic tile.

*edit*

the board is screwed from the bottom. The screw heads will be visible when you remove the old vent.
An under cabinet valance might be nice there if the vent sticks down too far.

Last edited by jlhaslip; 01-26-2010 at 12:56 PM.
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2010, 01:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6
Default

new range hood with existing cabinets


thanks jlhaslip - you've said what I expected (and hoped!). will let you know how it turns out. I'm pretty excited to get started (can you tell I'm new at this?!)

cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
range hood


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdraft, Cold Air and Ice from Range Hood and Bath Fan Passion4Heels HVAC 13 08-19-2010 07:00 PM
Range Hood install opinion Manshri Appliances 5 01-01-2010 12:04 PM
Island Range Hood? fromwithin Appliances 0 11-25-2009 10:45 PM
Installing a range hood NewHandyman Electrical 1 08-10-2009 09:42 AM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-15-2008 11:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.