New Interior Door - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2012, 11:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New interior door


I was lucky when I installed the door to the upstairs in my house. No wires on a non load baring wall. A friend of ours asked if I could do the same for them. I know how to install a door. The question is what if there are wires connecting two outlets where they want the door and how do I tell if its a load baring wall without cutting a bunch of holes to check? any help with this would be greatly appreciated

Rick

Advertisement

rick32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 12:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,732
Rewards Points: 580
Default

New interior door


If there's wires your going to have to open up the wall and run a new wire up and over the door and back down to the new outlet.

If it's just a reguler door and not a french door or big opening then it should not matter if it's load bearing or not. It's still going to need a header over the door and cripples over the header that will support the wall.
In that short a space the ceiling not going to move while framing it in.

Advertisement

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (04-14-2012)
Old 04-14-2012, 09:47 AM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,228
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

New interior door


If you have attic space above or basement/crawl space below. Fish a new wire between the 2 boxes by going up or down.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 11:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: B.C. Canada
Posts: 2,055
Rewards Points: 1,030
Default

New interior door


There can also be plumbing or HVAC in the walls.
If you can go below and look, see if any wires come up, pipes or other stuff.

If a wire runs from one plug to another you can run it above the door if no header or a small enough header. A double 2x6 easily does most normal situations.
Or go down into a basement or crawl space, or into the attic.
mae-ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 01:27 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,977
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

New interior door


There is liability involved when doing work for others, especially potential structural work or electrical wiring.

I suggest your friend join our forum for guidance. Or hire a licensed, bonded, and (liability) insured contractor.

Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 01:32 PM   #6
journeyman carpenter
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 2,766
Rewards Points: 2,148
Default

New interior door


you may also need to transfer the load on the header via squash blocks in the floor down to the bearing wall or beam below
woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New interior door


So much fo cutting a hole and poping it in Thanks for all the input I will know more when I look into it!

Rick

Advertisement

rick32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rick32 For This Useful Post:
mae-ling (04-14-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts