Need Some Help With Fireplace Base And Surround - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-14-2010, 02:08 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

Need some help with Fireplace base and surround

Need some help guys, We are having new carpet layed down next week and need to come up with a fix for the Fireplace before then. As you can see in the pics it is a blue marble that need's to go. The base seems to be attached to some cement board were it meets with the carpet. What would be a good way to get that out? And what would be a good idea to lay back down there before they lay the crapet? I can not go any higher as the fireplace controls are all ready hard to get at with the current height of the base. How can I remove the surround marble pieces also and what would be good to replace them with? Sorry for all the question but I am new with this. My wife also hates the gold on the current fireplace is there anyway I can remove or replace with something more appealing? Thank you guys for all your help I do appreciate it.
Attached Thumbnails
Need some help with Fireplace base and surround-fireplace-pics-008.jpg   Need some help with Fireplace base and surround-fireplace-pics-009.jpg  

Advertisement

bowanna03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:01 PM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,192

You have a steel fire box there----The slabs on the face are probably glued with mastic,firmset or liquid nails.

A couple of thin scrapers--putty knives or painters tools wedged between the steel face and the stone should pop them loose.

The base stone--same thing--along with some wood shims--should be able to get it out in one piece if you are careful and use plenty of shims.--Mike--

Advertisement

oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:15 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75