Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-19-2008, 12:04 PM   #1

Share |

Need to slit 1/2" PVC

I realize that this may not seem like a carpentry question, but I thought this would be the best place to post this question.

I am looking for suggestions for a method for creating a straight slit along the entire length of a piece of 1/2" PVC pipe up to 10' in length.

I have considered using my table saw, or my router (with a jig). Everything that I have considered leaves me with concerns about how to keep the slit (slot) in a straight line or how to hold the pipe while the slot is being cut.

I would like to hear any and all suggestions.

By the way, I am new to this forum but I have had many years of experience in carpentry and construction.

Byron Polk (Mr B)

Mr B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:09 PM   #2
Git

Need to slit 1/2" PVC

I would think if you used your table saw, the blade would keep the slot straight and keep the pvc from rotating?

Git is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 12:39 PM   #3

Need to slit 1/2" PVC

You could build a jig to hold it in (like a long v-shaped cradle); you could screw the ends down to keep it from rotating or clamp it down at the ends and run a circular saw down it to cut the slit.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 01:43 PM   #4

Need to slit 1/2" PVC

either method mentioned above should work fine. I would use the table saw with two guides.

Mr. B I give???? what are you going to do with the two halves?????
Big Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 02:32 PM   #5

Need to slit 1/2" PVC

Router out a 3/4"x 3/4" slot down the length of a straight 10' 2x4. Place the pipe in it and tack it in place with some hot melt glue. Rip it on a table saw. Scrape off the hot glue.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 05:32 PM   #6

Need to slit 1/2" PVC