Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-24-2012, 04:45 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Need Help: Looking to build a schoolwork space (For Books, Laptop, etc.)

Hello All!!! Im new to the thread, and looking to build a schoolwork area. It needs to be between 40 and 42 inches wide, and 24 inches deep. Im looking to create seperate sections so that I can slope a 14" section for my laptop to sit on.. Im trying to find the most economical, and efficient way to purchase materials that will support school books, a laptop, and other school related items, I am not at this point concerned with drawers, as I have many many things that willl happily fit underneath the height I have chosen ( for THAT purpose, as well as taking into account the height of the chair Ill be using with it....

Any Ideas? I have just returned to College full time, and have an 8 year old, and am finding that without a "specific" schoolwork space Its difficult to do the things I must....so am looking to make it happen, Im pretty efficient with a jigsaw, and own that, and a Dtremel, and a variety of handsaws I got from my grandpa... I am capable of getting the pieces cut at the facility I purchase them at, but have found that most men tend to look down on me, as Im a girl, and talk to me like Im a bubble headed moron..., so I figured Id ask here...I am mid running to get my Son, and going to class, but sincerely appreciate any help available

K

Scelerategirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 09:16 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,030

Need Help: Looking to build a schoolwork space (For Books, Laptop, etc.)

What are you putting under it? File cabinets?
Get a used solid wood door from a recycle center. Cut to size and put on top your file cabinets.