Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-17-2013, 04:17 PM   #1

Share |

Need help with installing T&G Plywood subfloor

Hello, I'm a newbie here.

Putting down new subfloor--Joists (16" oc) are ready for 3/4" T&G 4'x8' Plywood. Nailers need to be added along one side of wall where the 8' edge will sit, so the edge will be fastened with screws 6" a part. I'm not going to do this in the middle where the T&G joints will be sitting perpendicular to joists.

I am cutting 2x6 pieces to fit in between joist spacing. My question is: should these be a tight fit or should there be spacing (if so--how much) for expansion/condensing?

Also, how far from the T&G edge should the screws be fastened? (These joists are a little wider than 2 inches.)

I will probably have other questions about installing this subfloor, but have found out a lot of information already after researching for hours--but can't find anything about this nailer question.
WheelerGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 07:03 PM   #2

The blocking is installed tight, there needs to be no movement.
Can you post a picture of what your joist look like?
Reason I ask if there wider then 2" then it sounds like an old house, now would be the time fix a few things that are almost always wrong in older homes.
Undersized, over spanned, uneven, sagging in the middle, sloping to one side are all common issues that should be addressed before any sub flooring.
Using #8 ring shank nails in a framing nailer would be much faster and not leave raised area where the screw goes in.
They need to be at least every 6".
Old 07-18-2013, 03:03 PM   #3

Yes, Joecaption, you are right--this is a very old two-story farm house here in Mid-Michian (built 1920) with additions to the back built in the 30's.