Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-06-2009, 09:45 AM   #1

Share |

Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)

Hello DIY Chatroom members. I had been a long time reader but this is my first time posting. This forum has helped me and persuaded me to start my basement project. It’s been a good month and I am almost done my basement framing. Here are these pictures, and I was wondering if my frame works are correctly built. Especially on the soffits. Where do I need to make corrections if any ?
Attached Thumbnails
Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)-img_0447a.jpg   Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)-img_0448a.jpg   Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)-img_0449_1a.jpg   Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)-img_0450a.jpg   Need Advice and guidance. (PICS)-img_0451.jpg  

jamesjinlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:03 AM   #2

The only thing I have heard people comment on is noise from the ducts
If any wood/stuf hits the metal there will be vibration
Very hard to fix once sheetrock is up
Just a heads up

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 10:05 AM   #3

The soffit is about 1 inch away from the duct. Hard to see from picture. But is the soffit built correctly ?
Old 07-06-2009, 11:23 AM   #4

Soffit looks okay, but why is there so much space on either side of the patio door? The rough opening looks like you can fit another 2x4 on each side. The space should resemble the top of the patio door, about 1/2-3/4".
I don't see any fasteners attaching the 2x4s of the soffit to the floor joists. What did you use?
Ron

Last edited by Ron6519; 07-06-2009 at 11:25 AM. Reason: Additional info
Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2009, 01:13 PM   #5

It looks great. Did you spray foam the rim joists before putting the fiberglass insulation in the bays?

Another thing. You'll want to tape all the seams in your duct work before drywalling.