Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-11-2010, 05:14 PM   #1

Share |

Need advice on built-in bookcase

Hi all,

I started knocking out a rather ugly built-in bookcase in my condo with the idea of replacing it with a recessed cabinet for my living room electronics. I confirmed that the wall was deep enough, and it appeared to be hollow behind the bookcase, so I thought it would be fine. Unfortunately, now that the bookcase is partially demolished, I've realized there are ducts that will prevent me from making it as deep as I'd like. I now realize I should have just cut a small piece of drywall out to check before doing anything, but the damage is done. Disclaimer: This is my first condo and I'm pretty new to DIY, so I'm pretty much clueless, but am determined to learn more.

I'm looking for ideas on what to do. I could always rebuild a bookcase the same size as the one I knocked out, but it would be nice to be able to follow through with my original plan. Here are a couple of pictures:

http://tspike.com/pictures/DSC_0012.JPG
http://tspike.com/pictures/DSC_0013.JPG

What would you do?

tspike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 06:06 AM   #2

I would proceed with much caution. I see a fireplace there, indicating that is an outside wall?? Possibly a load bearing wall, with a weakened support structure. Have someone that understands such things have a look-see. You may have to abandon the recessed shelf unit and reinforce those cut studs.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 10:11 AM   #3

what he said
Jay123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 01:48 PM   #4

Send a message via Skype™ to GarageDoorCente