Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-07-2012, 10:43 AM   #1

Share |

Miter saw kickback with oak quarter round

Hi all,

I'm trimming up several rooms in our house using a Dewalt 12" miter saw, and ran into an issue today. I've already installed crown (painted maple) and baseboards (pine with quarter round), in one room without incident. Today while cutting oak quarter round, 0 degree cuts were fine, but whenever I did my 45 degree cuts for corners, the wood would "catch", splinter, torque the length that I'm holding violently, and shoot fragments behind the saw, resulting in a ruined length of quarter round and a startled me. I tried to slow down my cut, but the same thing happened. I'm making sure that the material is solidly against the fence. My blade is new and not visibly warped.

I'm pretty new to the DIY field, and things were going well and I was enjoying the work until this, which has taken a little wind out of my sails. I want to make sure that I'm using the saw properly and safely before I continue.

Thanks so much for your help!

KukuChoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 10:50 AM   #2
the Musigician

How many teeth in the blade you're using? Is it a rip/crosscut blade or a trim blade?

DM

Old 01-07-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
Not so new

How was it positioned on the table/fence?
12penny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 11:05 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
How many teeth in the blade you're using? Is it a rip/crosscut blade or a trim blade?

DM
Diablo 80 tooth fine finish trim blade.

http://www.performancetoolcenter.com...saw-blade.html
Old 01-07-2012, 11:08 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12penny View Post
How was it positioned on the table/fence?