Metal Door Casings - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-28-2015, 08:53 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 2

Metal Door Casings

First off, I'm really excited to have become a member here. Most of my google searches typically bring me here so I finally decided to sign up now that my girlfriend and I are in the process of fully renovating our 1960, 1K sqft ranch style home. I'm very fortunate in that I'm a firefighter so I have a lot of time off to get stuff done so it's been moving along nicely for the most part.

We are currently in the process of laying down laminate flooring and when it came time to undercut the jambs/casing, I noticed the casings were metal. I used a dewalt oscillating tool to under cut the casing/jambs however, the casings are flush with the plaster walls and are basically a quarter round/bull nose into the jamb.

I need a way to hide the small gap where the expansion gap juts out from under the door casing. I'm going to be putting down baseboards but that will still leave an ever so small gap where the casing curves. Is there a way to tie in a baseboard with the rounded casing? I've read about making four 22.5 degree cuts but all of the baseboards I've seen would be too thick and would interfere with the door opening/closing.

I'm currently on duty but I'll upload pictures when I get off work tomorrow morning as I'm sure that will help if anyone is having trouble grasping what I'm describing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Advertisement

Dr_Cornwallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 10:08 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,030

Can you get some pictures up?

Advertisement

Mingledtrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:08 AM   #3

Sorry for the delay, I'm working on getting some pics. Been a busy few days!

Old 12-31-2015, 05:09 AM   #4