Lock-Box For The Back Of My Jeep - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-25-2008, 01:09 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Lock-Box for the Back of my Jeep

Hey, new here and needing help with building a lockbox for the back of my Jeep Wrangler.

My plans are to make a box out of plywood that sits behind the backseat up against the tailgate. I figure I can just use the tailgate itself as the lock by putting the door hinges on the bottom of the box and opening it like a pickup truck bed. After building the box I want to cover the top and inside with carpet.

My Dad has all the tools I will need for cutting wood and enough nails and glue for a lifetime. Since I'm a bit of a newb to this I would like some help. I mainly just need a bit of direction with how to do the corners and sides. I've done some searching, but a guide is eluding me at the moment.

Any help is appreciated

Advertisement

PILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2008, 11:27 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

I have a commercial-made Tuffy full length box that creates a drawer under the back seat of my 05' Jeep TJ Rubicon.

The space behind the rear seat is not very deep - and is deeper at the bottom than the top. Off-hand 3/4" ply cut in the triangle shape for the sides/ends, with 1/4" ply for the botton, top, back, and drop down front (I think your idea here is excellent). The 3/4" ply would provide the beef to nail the 1/4" pieces to it.

Various folks have made many different storage solutions for their Jeeps. I might suggest you search some of the Jeep forums such as http://www.jeepsunlimited.com/forums/ and/or post requests for pictures - lots of good ideas available I would think.

Good luck!

Advertisement

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 08:33 AM   #3

Rewards Points: 75