Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 03:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Kitchen Cabinet braket loose


The top and bottom screw just keep turning and does not get tight. I think the hole is too big or no good anymore(what is the trade term for that?? the screw is not stripped is the hole stripped). I took the screw out and was thinking of putting a bigger screw as that in turn would make a bigger hole and it would catch. But the extg. screw just fits in the hole of the bracket so I can't put a bigger one. I also can't move the bracket and screw new holes because that in turn will make the cabinet not line up. Any suggestion? I would like to go to HD now to try and fix this. Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen Cabinet braket loose-photo-6-copy.jpg  

Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 04:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Kitchen Cabinet braket loose


Glue a golf tee or wooden dowel into the two holes. When dry, drill pilot holes for the screws.

djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
Mstrlucky74 (02-23-2013)
Old 02-23-2013, 05:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Kitchen Cabinet braket loose


Well I adjust the bracket so the hole move slightly to the right of the extg. holes. I drill a small hole and then starting screwing the screws but I guess they were too close because the wood(looks like particle board) just mushed in. DAMN. I should have listened to the the suggestion to put dowels in the holes. My wife get home from work in an hour...uh oh
Attached Thumbnails
Kitchen Cabinet braket loose-photo-6-copy-2.jpg  
Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 07:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,444
Rewards Points: 558
Default

Kitchen Cabinet braket loose


You can still repair it with dowels. Use multiple holes. Let the glue cure overnight before trying to drill the new holes.
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 07:52 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 522
Default

Kitchen Cabinet braket loose


Thanks..at least I had nice pork chop recipe , potatoes and brussel sprouts waiting for her!!!! Yeah man!!
Mstrlucky74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floating Kitchen Cabinet install zaphod42 Carpentry 4 02-12-2013 08:27 PM
Access through kitchen cabinet to pipes taylorroad Carpentry 4 09-01-2012 07:09 AM
kitchen cabinet mircrowave range marin001 Building & Construction 1 12-10-2010 06:32 PM
Kitchen cabinet question MagicalHome Remodeling 2 11-21-2010 08:31 AM
Kitchen sink centered on cabinet? sillyboy22 Plumbing 3 03-02-2010 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.