Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-23-2014, 05:15 PM   #1
Pro Painter

Share |

Joists to level floor

I'm a painter by trade but am doing some other work on my own house.
Laying marble in the kitchen, saw that someone sistered joists already, but it's a hack job.

The outside walls are cinder block and appear to have been chiseled for the existing joists. Then someone went in and tried to sister a couple of them, but can't get new joists on the one supporting wall. So they just ran them from the I-beam and stopped short of the other wall. It's only a 12' span. I'm wondering if there is an acceptable way to deal with this without lolly's or chipping the cinder block? If not, I think I'd rather deal with the cinder block.

Looks like 2 joists need to be sistered properly Where the floor from one room with diagonal 6by meets plywood. Any advice appreciated.

joewho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 05:56 PM   #2
journeyman carpenter

Joists to level floor

post some pictures

woodworkbykirk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 06:16 PM   #3
DIY staff

Joists to level floor

It would have been better if both ends of the sistered joists were supported--it is not absolutely necessary---

The end supported by the existing joist should be strong enough if the two joists are fastened together properly.
Old 02-23-2014, 06:34 PM   #4
Civil Engineer

Joists to level floor

That technique is pretty common with concrete block (cinder block is made from cinders, and hasn't been used for probably 100 years). Since the end of a joist is in shear only (essentially no bending moment on the ends), and joists almost never fail in shear, it is almost always OK to sister the existing joists between the supporting walls and not actually support the sistered joist at the wall. Of course if the existing joist is rotten on the ends, that is a totally different matter.