Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-31-2011, 10:40 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

installing laminate countertops & repainting cabinets

Ok I really need input on this subject.

1. My cabinets where painted when I moved in. They are a off white/cream color. I want to paint them brown. Will I have to sand them to repaint, or can I just paint over the existing paint? There seems to only be one layer of paint.

2. I will also be removing the countertops and sink. I plan on just using a laminate, but I have no clue how to install it.

3. I am thinking of getting a farmhouse stainless steal sink, because I think they look good, and it would save me the trouble of trying to cut out the hole for the sink and fixtures. I know I will have to build some kind of support in the cabinet to hold the new sink, but I'm not sure how to go about that either.

I am new to DIY, but I'm pretty handy, hopefully we can do this ourselves. Any advice will be great appreciated.

Thanks
Shona

shocanfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 11:20 AM   #2
Coatings Nerd

Rewards Points: 250

Quote:
Originally Posted by shocanfixit View Post
Ok I really need input on this subject. PLEASE!

1. My cabinets where painted when I moved in. They are a off white/cream color. I want to paint them brown. Will I have to sand them to repaint, or can I just paint over the existing paint? There seems to only be one layer of paint.

Clean them first, then lightly scuff sand to dull them a bit. I would use an oil finish on cabinets, the finish looks much nicer, they dont look "painted" so to speak.

Have you thought about antiquing the cabinets? All you need is a dark Gel stain. Brush it on, and wipe off. It will darken the color slightly making it look aged. Also, the stain will take darker in all the cracks and crevasses.