Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2007, 01:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a handrail


Where should I install it? On the textured wal, wood rail or dry wall? Thanks!






handbanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 05:18 PM   #2
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Installing a handrail


Should be between 30" and 34 " from top of tread (front of nosing) to top of rail. Where does that put it?

Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:07 PM   #3
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brik View Post
Should be between 30" and 34 " from top of tread (front of nosing) to top of rail. Where does that put it?
Brik, no offense, but code should be 34" minimum and 42" maximum....from the nose of the tread....
Do you have different requirements in your neck of the woods?

Example:

http://nashua.qscend.com/filestorage/51/70/151/Deck.pdf
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:10 PM   #4
Master Craftsman
 
Big Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest Mo.
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing a handrail


I always install it at 36" to the top from the front of the step.
__________________
Do one thing at a time, do it well, then move on.
www.bigdaveswoodworks.com
Big Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:14 PM   #5
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
I always install it at 36" to the top from the front of the step.
Same here, it keeps you safely in code without possible error...

(Hey Dave....we are agreeing again.... )
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:15 PM   #6
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


HandB,

As mentioned, height code really is what will dictate the placement of the railing and it's hardware.
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:15 PM   #7
Master Craftsman
 
Big Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest Mo.
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing a handrail


Go check the texture thread. If you would have said what you meant I would have agreed with you then.
__________________
Do one thing at a time, do it well, then move on.
www.bigdaveswoodworks.com
Big Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:17 PM   #8
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
Go check the texture thread. If you would have said what you meant I would have agreed with you then.

Sometimes, the brain refuses to work with the mouth...or in this case...the fingers...
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a handrail


ok will do.

Where do you think I should buy the handrail? (the brackets and the handrail) ?

Does homedepot carry them?
handbanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:46 PM   #10
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by handbanana View Post
ok will do.

Where do you think I should buy the handrail? (the brackets and the handrail) ?

Does homedepot carry them?
Yes, they do.

However (sorry to throw this wrench into your plans)...
code requires returns on the ends of the handrail (if you intend to do it that way)

I wouldn't worry about it tho....that is up to you if you want to test some of your carpentry skills...
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 06:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticWBConst. View Post
Yes, they do.

However (sorry to throw this wrench into your plans)...
code requires returns on the ends of the handrail (if you intend to do it that way)

I wouldn't worry about it tho....that is up to you if you want to test some of your carpentry skills...
Ok. Are handrails usually painted?
handbanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2007, 07:51 PM   #12
Lic. Builder/GC/Remodeler
 
AtlanticWBConst.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 7,556
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by handbanana View Post
Ok. Are handrails usually painted?

Generally...no.

If they are painted it is a very dark color.

They are usually stained and even protected with a non-gloss coating, since they will face finger prints galore....
AtlanticWBConst. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 07:53 AM   #13
Handyguy
 
Brik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 803
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via Skype™ to Brik
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by [LEFT
AtlanticWBConst[/left].;38742]
Brik, no offense, but code should be 34" minimum and 42" maximum....from the nose of the tread....
Do you have different requirements in your neck of the woods?

Example:

http://nashua.qscend.com/filestorage/51/70/151/Deck.pdf
No offense taken at all. I was unsure of the height and googled it. I still need to attach the handrail on my basement stairs (I left it off to make things easier for carpet guys). My local codes are not online and I have no future interactions with an inspector.

Anyway, first link I found in my google search was an OSHA link
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owad...ONS&p_id=22816
which says

Quote:
1910.23(e)(2) A stair railing shall be of construction similar to a standard railing but the vertical height shall be not more than 34 inches nor less than 30 inches from upper surface of top rail to surface of tread in line with face of riser at forward edge of tread.
Seems a second link, also from OSHA says

Quote:
(6) The height of handrails shall be not more than 37 inches (94 cm) nor less than 30 inches (76 cm) from the upper surface of the handrail to the surface of the tread, in line with the face of the riser at the forward edge of the tread.
(7) When the top edge of a stair rail system also serves as a handrail, the height of the top edge shall be not more than 37 inches (94 cm) nor less than 36 inches (91.5 cm) from the upper surface of the stair rail system to the surface of the tread, in line with the face of the riser at the forward edge of the tread.
Another site that quotes the OSHA specs 30"-34" http://safetyis.us/stairs.htm

Regardless, I think 36" is a nice comfortable height. Not sure yet what I'll use.

Last edited by Brik; 03-29-2007 at 07:55 AM. Reason: fixed spelling
Brik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 04:00 PM   #14
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing a handrail


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Dave View Post
I always install it at 36" to the top from the front of the step.
With you being 6'6" you'd probably want to go with the 42" maximum
ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2007, 04:14 PM   #15
Master Craftsman
 
Big Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest Mo.
Posts: 289
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Installing a handrail


Your absolutely right Ron. I've had to train myself to make sure and place things at normal people's height instread of my own. I would hold something up to be mounted and ask if that was ok and they would say, sure for you but you better move it down for me.

By the way, it's 6'9" not 6'6".

__________________
Do one thing at a time, do it well, then move on.
www.bigdaveswoodworks.com
Big Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Quarter Round shanmon Flooring 4 07-19-2007 12:59 PM
Installing 4" no-hub coupler wibass Plumbing 4 06-14-2007 07:40 PM
Installing Ceiling Fixture schack44 Electrical 3 05-23-2007 07:51 PM
Installing Marble Threshold Redleg Flooring 3 10-21-2006 05:16 PM
Installing Corner Countertops on a corner that is not square? tjandt Remodeling 10 12-30-2005 10:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.