Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-25-2012, 05:23 PM   #1

Share |
Input for a Screw Guide Card

Hi all, been a long time lurker, just now starting to DIY more that I moved into my house.

One issue that I had encountered a few times which I hadn't figured out a good solution was 2 things. 1) knowing what size pilot hole to drill, and 2 how to read a screw size in the store and buy the proper size.

In my bordom, I created a screw sizing card about the size of a credit card, that has on it a gauge guide and drill guide to help me in store size a screw. The idea was that you would take the shank of the screw, and align it to the proper guide and you could use the chart to determine what screw you had, what size pilot hole, and if you wanted what bit for a counter sink.

Being that my day job is interaction design, I figured showing the card to more seasoned DIYers would be helpful. The back of the card I am not showing, but currently it just has a fraction to decimal, to mm conversion chart. For those quick conversions.

It is not quite finished, but I would like to at some point have them printed on plastic and have the holes at the top cut out.

I would love to hear what others think of it and more importanly would it be useful for those who have issues with screws, like I do

Thanks!

marriomi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:34 PM   #2
jschaben

That's one of those things that when first starting out, you think is so indispensable you wonder why they aren't sold everywhere. By the time you are through your first or second project, you wonder why you got it.