Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-16-2009, 08:31 AM   #1
Home Remodeler Wannabe

Share |

How to properly shim sheetrock/plywood?

This is going to be an extremely stupid question for you guys, but I am not sure? I just patched and painted my living room/dining room walls. (they are about 100 years old or very close to it) I am considering, (Eventually when cash flow is better) to cover the walls in sheetrock. The wall aren't that bad, I don't think)(being even) but the sheetrock would be better I believe. How would I go about hanging and shimming the sheetrock to make it 100% flat/level/even? My guess is 1x4 shimmed but I have never done this before? Same thing goes for my floor. Covered in 1950's tile (not ceramic vinyl I believe probably asbestos) some are breaking/popping up. If I cover with carpet wouldn't be a problem, but I suspect my wife is looking for laminate floor?

Thank You

Scotsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 09:10 AM   #2

I put down a laminate floor in part of our house. It's OK, but not as nice as wood, which isn't any harder to put down, and seems to cost less besides. I've been using bamboo, which I'm really happy with.

Regarding the walls, been there, done that.

If your studs are vertical, then you can use 1x4 horizontally, and put shims behind as necessary. My studs weren't vertical. And they werent' on 16 inch centers. I ran two strings, one at the ceiling, and one at the floor. I pulled the strings in enough so that the new wall could be straight and plumb. I set the strings 1.5" inside where I wanted the new studs. Then I put up new studs on 16" centers, using the end of a stud as a spacer (so the spacer goes between the string and the stud to evaluate the location, then use the spacer to guage the next stud, and so forth).

I also checked each new stud for plumb, and used a straightege across them.