Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-28-2013, 09:45 PM   #1

Share |

How to layout sheathing on a 10' wall?

Hi guys,

I'm a beginner working on a shed project and just hit my next stumbling project. My shed is roughly 10'x10' with 8' tall walls. So, I basically have 320 sq. ft. of wall to cover. So I've focused on layouts that use 10 sheets of OSB. Thus far, I've considered laying out the sheets vertically, 4', 4', and 2', as one option. The other is horizontal method, would be a 8' and 2' strip and a 4' and 6' strip. From what I read, it sounds like horizontal is much stronger which makes sense. For my horizontal, option I was concerned about the small 2' x 4' section and having to make 6 cuts vs 2 with the vertical approach. So, my question is which is the better option or have I overlooked something better?

Thanks

S
mklein49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:28 PM   #2

why not go 8' vertical? studs at 24" o.c.?

just a thought ..... good luck!

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 11:48 PM   #3
Jack of all Trades

I don't know if its a standard but whenever I layout sheet goods the long edge always goes perpendicular. I was 'taught' to NEVER "stand" your sheet up. Without know the exact answer as to why I can make an educated guess and say it has to do with stability. Same way you might make a cross brace as a support rather than a straight brace. Make sense?

Unfortunately you're going to have to go with a 4' 4' & 2' don't forget to reverse that pattern when you hang the next course of sheathing. You don't want overlapping seams!

hope this helps...just my $0.02

Al C
lifestooshort81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 08:07 AM   #4
AHH, SPANS!!!