Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-04-2012, 10:11 PM   #1

Share |

How do I build shelves againt frame studs?

This is probably a really stupid question -- sorry I'm pretty new to all this. I want to build shelves on the inside of my storage shed, but the interior walls are unfinished -- you see the 2x4 frame studs jutting out. Obviously I can just span across the studs, but then there will be a 4" gap in the back of each shelf.

It seems to me I need to make a 2x4" notch in each of the shelves to accommodate the studs. I have no idea how to do that with basic hand tools, however. I could split the shelves into a series of spans, each with a notch in the corner, connecting at each stud, but that seems to create a lot of unnecessary seams in the shelf.

How do real carpenters handle this?

(attached is a photo in case it's not clear what I'm talking about.)
Attached Thumbnails
How do I build shelves againt frame studs?-image-2008945884.jpg  
NYCbianchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:20 PM   #2

I would either:

1: leave the back part between the studs open
2: cut simple/strait shelves and fill in the back part between the studs with horizontal 2X4s
3: use a handsaw, drill, chisel and cut the shelves.

I'm not sure what you can do or what your shed will contain, but I would probably go with # 1 or 2.
Total Tool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:27 PM   #3
Renovations contractor

You could always just finish the interior walls with 1/2" plywood.

Best tool for notching a shelf as you describe would be a jig saw. You could use a regular hand saw for the 2 side cuts and a coping saw for the 3rd cut if you prefer to go that route. Personally I'd finish the inside so have more places for hanging tools, etc.