Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-24-2006, 07:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden City, Mi
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

How to attach coat/hatrack to wall ???


Simple project, but not sure how to mount this coat/hat rack I bought at Ikea. Made of wood, it measures 48" long and is 10" high and weighs about 20 pounds. Loaded with coats, etc, it will be much heavier. It has 4 predrilled holes in the back of the unit to mount it to the wall, but of course they do not match up with the studs on the wall. Walls are plaster. I don't think mollies will hold it, but am not sure. Would I be better off mounting a piece of 10" x 48" wood to the wall into the studs and then attaching this unit to the wood??? Would appreciate any opinions. (I should have my user name changed to "Dumb In Detroit")

dferber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 06:46 PM   #2
renovations
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 430
Default

How to attach coat/hatrack to wall ???


As i read your post I had "why not mount a 10"x 48" piece of wood to the wall first?" in my head. Then I read it in your post. So that makes two of us. You could use a slightly larger piece and rout the edge to give a nice detail too.

Bonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 08:07 PM   #3
I blame ProWallGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Default

How to attach coat/hatrack to wall ???


Try to get as many of the screws that go into the original holes into studs.

Do not use a molly bolt for plaster, unless its plaster over blue board. If its plaster and lathe wall, use a toggle bolt instead. Place these in the holes that do not line up with a stud in the wall.
Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 11:20 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden City, Mi
Posts: 14
Default

How to attach coat/hatrack to wall ???


Hm. One vote for each method. I did mean toggle. I went to Lowe's and bought a board and wood screws but also found toggles that state they are for plaster walls. Still not sure what I will try. Problem with the toggle bolts is that I will have to insert them into the holes in the unit before I insert them into the wall. That may be challenging doing it by myself. So, I have all supplies to try both methods. Still undecided. If I have calculated correctly, I will be able to only get one hole to line up with a stud (If I choose that method).
dferber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommended way to attach firring strips to Drylock wall? jbwaechter Building & Construction 1 04-29-2007 04:08 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM
This is not a load-bearing wall, right? AllGoNoShow Building & Construction 4 01-07-2007 03:49 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Remodeling 3 11-05-2006 01:39 PM
Load Bearing Wall? Traybae Building & Construction 1 11-05-2006 01:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.