Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-16-2011, 04:23 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Help. Drilled hole too large

Hi,

I am completely new to home repair and I'm afraid that I've just made a mistake and I'm not sure how to fix. I was just hanging the brackets for a toilet paper roll using the provided drywall anchors / screws. The first one went up without issues. Unfortunately, I drilled and drilled and drilled with a 3/16" bit in preparation to drive the second drywall anchor and I just couldn't get through the drywall. Of course I was drilling into a stud.

Obviously I should have used a stud finder ahead of time to check, but hindsight is 20/20 and I'm just figuring out all of this stuff as I go along. So, now I've got a deep 3/16" hole in a stud into which I need to drive a small screw and I'm not sure what to do. Is there some kind of putty or something I can fill the hole in with and then drive a screw into? Help.

Thanks in advance.

-rs1971

rs1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Framing Contractor

Tap in some toothpicks or a golf tee and then try the screw

sixeightten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Experienced

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixeightten View Post
Tap in some toothpicks or a golf tee and then try the screw
Either that or just get a longer screw
woodworkbykirk (11-16-2011)
Old 11-16-2011, 06:07 PM   #4

Thanks guys for the suggestions. I ended up just buying some KwikWood which I'll use to fill the hole and then drive the screw from scratch. It was probably $5 of overkill but at least now I know that the stuff exists.

-rs1971
rs1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:54 PM   #5
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 22

I split up wood shims or even a carpenters pencil and pound them into the holes---
Old 11-16-2011, 08:33 PM   #6