Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-12-2011, 08:56 PM   #1

Share |

HELP with basement finishing project

I bought my house 5 years ago with a bare concrete slab, walkout baseent. I am a novice carpenter at best. Like anything else, after a good deal of reading (including many threads on this site), much trial and error and persistence, my skills improved.

I started by having a professionally installed waterproofing system: including a sump pump; a french drain running the entire permitter of the outside foundation walls; and a commercial dehumidifier running directly to the pump.

I myself installed what i would probably say amounts to at the very least, double layered 6 poly plastic covering exterior walls - ends running down into french drain - and floor.

The floor consists of pressure treated 2x4 sleepers pneumatically nailed to concrete slab 16 oc; double layered (and more) poly plastic underneath sleepers; rigid foam insulation in between sleepers; and 3/4 OSB trufloor screwed on top of that.

Take a look (tell me what you think):

So I look forward to any comments, critiques, advice, or whatever else comes to the minds of the readers of my post who care to write about what they're thinking.

BUT and a big BUT - - this is why I am writing. And could really use the advice of those who know better than me or who know 'different' than me. In the process of framing the basement, I had to build approximately 45 inch 'knee' walls to house the electrical and 'hide' the concrete foundation. There is an approximately 4 inch ledge on the concrete foundation, and then 2x6 framing on top of that.

The design requires a shelf or ledge around the room... sitting on top of the knee wall and ideally level with the 4 inch concrete ledge.