Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-24-2012, 11:44 AM   #1

Share |
Lightbulb

Help with bar plans...

I've never built anything with wood so I'm trying to compensate by planning this out as much as possible. I'm a 3d animator so I created a digital model of my basement and built the bar digitally.
I'm planning on building the real thing now (if the wife approves), so I'd like to know if there are any gaping holes in my plan or anything I'm missing.
Here's the video showing the structure:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S5J64O2fv4

Any feedback is much appreciated!!

zacstark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 12:06 PM   #2
DIY staff

Help with bar plans...

My computer is whacked out --no videos for me this week---How about a still shot ?

Old 03-24-2012, 01:50 PM   #3
Old School

Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond them.

Help with bar plans...

A few suggestions?

Build the sides (ends?) with full-length studs rather than add the top section. If you are to add a part, the stepped-down area would be the one to add.

The countertop should be built with enough of a "cutout" so that the freezer top stays open by itself. Can you use a sliding top freezer instead?

All the hinges should be inset mortises so that the framing will not have a large gap.

Consider "Boomer" double-direction hinges on the door. This is a big plus in a "hands-full serving" situation.

The wall ledger (countertop stop and rest) should have rounded ends so that no one will snag their hips.

Provide a means to stop and hold the countertop opening piece just past vertical. Do not plan on letting it flop back down on top of the rest of the countertop. I might hinge it the other way, up against the wall, and provide a spring catch on the wall.