Hello From A New OLD Guy - Need Help With Stained (Older) Oak Floor Boards - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-26-2011, 06:53 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Hello From A new OLD Guy - Need Help with Stained (Older) Oak Floor Boards

Howdy Pardners, I learned my trade from 2 old civilian carpenters back in 1966 at the Coast Guard base in Cape May , NJ I was a carpenter for many years. But on heavy & highway projects, then in factories. Now working on my new / house built between 1830 & 1870 ( records lost ) I realize how little I knew. Especially about interior wood projects. I live north of Binghamton, NY
I'm not sure where best to post this my First question but I'll start right here.
I have Oak hardwood floors that i am going to refinish. The old couple that lived here for many years had a washer & dryer sitting on the floor and it aparently leaked for a LONG time.The Oak floor is black stained. I hate to remove and replace. I was wondering if there are any chemicals about these days that might bleach the wood? Years ago ( soon to be 40 ) when I first got married I bought a round oak table at an auction. and it had a big hot pot black ring and bubble in the veneer. After gluing and sanding I used some clorox and got the marks pretty well gone and then stained the whole table so it matched. Worked good. But I don't wish to dark stain this whole floor. And there have been so many new things available today from when I worked in wood. Heck I just got my first Craigs Jig ( love it )
Any help as far as best area to post or replies on a better fix I would like to hear. I've got a few projects done I'll share when I am able to spend a few more minutes to post.
Thanks , Woodie

Advertisement

wayne wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 07:28 AM   #2
DIY staff

Rewards Points: 3,192