Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-02-2010, 11:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Header Sizing


Hey all. I am going to open up a wall running through the center of my house with a picture window. Rough dimensions of opening will be 3' tall x 6.5'wide. (14" from ceiling and 4' from floor) The exterior walls are the true "load bearing walls" but I am sure there is some dead load on this center wall as well. I am going to cut out 4 wall studs, 16" c-c spacing, and install a header with 2 jack studs up against exsisting studs on each end.

Trying to figure out what size header to make to be safe. Was thinking 2x12 (x2) and placing them directly under the roof trusses. Im also going to use temporary supports on each side of the wall while Im cutting studs/ installing header.

Let me know if you need more info.

Opinions? Thanks

IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


Is this an inside wall ?
Do you have a pic of the wall ?

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:16 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to GarageDoorCente
Default

Header Sizing


First off, size of header varies greatly depending on the weight it is bearing, but 4x12 SHOULD be enough, your "jack up studs" are most commonly called trimmers, and your trimmer nailed to the stud is right, and as per code, there should be about 10-12 nails from the full stud into the header. If your wall is close enough to the outside, then the header is unneeded, and if you're putting in a new wall, then the header DEFINITELY is unneeded. If you're paranoid and just want to be sure, a 4x6 should be more than enough. Don't waste money, especially if you're putting a new wall in an existing house. Expecting the wall to bear weight is the same as expecting that the house will fall without the wall.
GarageDoorCente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:25 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


It is an inside wall. It runs perpendicular to the trusses and floor joists and is in the center of my house. The wall runs the length of the house (-) doorways / entrances. This section of the wall has 10 studs, so there will be two studs on each side of the header left untouched + the two studs on each end of the header I will be putting the "trimmers" against + the header. Sorry if thats hard to understand - and I don't have a pitcure right now.

LHS............................................... .................................... RHS
(stud) (stud) (stud)(trimmer) -- header -- (trimmer)(stud) (stud) (stud)

dont know if this explains what Im talking about. On the RHS is an exterior wall on the gable end of the house.
IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


One story house or two story?
If you have truss' then usually interior walls are not load bearing on one story
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


One story with basement. Talking about first story. Right - thats what I was thinking but was just going to put one in to be safe...
IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 12:51 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: central virginia mountains
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


bad math had question refigured
__________________
The older I get the better I was

Last edited by tpolk; 03-02-2010 at 12:53 PM.
tpolk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 01:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


Tpolk: I don't understand what youre saying...
IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 01:22 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


You are actually putting a window inside the house ?
Or will it just be an opening ?

Doesn't really matter
But I would put a header up, then simply put a 2x12 header up against the top plate
Unless you want the window lower
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 01:25 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


Just an opening. 2x12 will work for "appearance". Thanks for the help then - appreciate it
IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 01:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to GarageDoorCente
Default

Header Sizing


Quote:
Originally Posted by IDIY View Post
It is an inside wall. It runs perpendicular to the trusses and floor joists and is in the center of my house. The wall runs the length of the house (-) doorways / entrances. This section of the wall has 10 studs, so there will be two studs on each side of the header left untouched + the two studs on each end of the header I will be putting the "trimmers" against + the header. Sorry if thats hard to understand - and I don't have a pitcure right now.

LHS............................................... .................................... RHS
(stud) (stud) (stud)(trimmer) -- header -- (trimmer)(stud) (stud) (stud)

dont know if this explains what Im talking about. On the RHS is an exterior wall on the gable end of the house.
yeah there's definitely no need for it at all, it's a waste, where you would put the header just put 2-2x4s for sheetrock. if you want it to be more solid you can make an L with 2 2x4s and then add one more next to the tall part of the L so basically a U with no gaps. if that makes sense. we call the L's stiffbacks.
GarageDoorCente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 01:40 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Header Sizing


That stiffback makes sense. I'll see what I come up with. I'll probably put one in anyway. Probably be a bit overkill but I'd rather do that and feel good about it than not.

Thanks

Last edited by IDIY; 03-02-2010 at 01:44 PM.
IDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 02:47 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via Skype™ to GarageDoorCente
Default

Header Sizing


well if there isn't an existing wall i would definitely frown upon doing this, because your house is standing just fine without the wall in, so it won't ever bear any weight..

GarageDoorCente is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raise header of house wall plus add more header capslock Building & Construction 22 02-01-2010 09:13 PM
Header sizing question..... Oxymoron Building & Construction 2 01-08-2010 09:13 PM
header sizing atljamo Building & Construction 3 08-12-2008 09:21 PM
Garage door header sizing rjniles Carpentry 3 01-13-2008 05:57 PM
Moving Header Supports Star Building & Construction 3 09-25-2005 12:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.