Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-23-2010, 07:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

header problem

novice here. i bought an older home and knocked down a couple of small walls only to find it has 16 foot studs running though both stories. someone told me it's a bloom home, whatever that means. how do i build a new header in this case? these are not loadbearing walls so i can't put a temp wall under support joists and i don't believe i can just cut these studs loose.

Last edited by coachv; 12-23-2010 at 07:14 PM.
coachv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:01 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

header problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachv View Post
novice here. i bought an older home and knocked down a couple of small walls only to find it has 16 foot studs running though both stories. someone told me it's a bloom home, whatever that means. how do i build a new header in this case? these are not loadbearing walls so i can't put a temp wall under support joists and i don't believe i can just cut these studs loose.
You might mean balloon framing?
You might want to put the hammer down for awhile until you understand the structure you're dealing with.
Post some pictures of what you have, so we can see the structure.
Ron

Ron6519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 09:37 PM   #3

header problem

ahh. balloon. i'm not doing the header myself. just want to understand the process.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron6519 View Post
You might mean balloon framing?
You might want to put the hammer down for awhile until you understand the structure you're dealing with.
Post some pictures of what you have, so we can see the structure.
Ron
Old 12-24-2010, 07:49 AM   #4
Civil Engineer

Rewards Points: 2,080

header problem