Hanging A Beam Between Posts - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-05-2013, 05:47 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Hanging a beam between posts

First time poster looking for some advice. I am considering adding a floor into my "crawl space" I call it that because technically thats what is it, but the ceiling of the floor above is around 19' up, leaving ample room for full height room.

My question is regarding how to provide support for the floor. Existing ceiling above is supported by 4x6 beams over the top of 4x4 posts. These are set about 6' or so apart with an 8' span for the joists. For the new floor I would like to hang 4x6 beams between these existing posts, but not sure how to do that. I am an engineer so did the load calcs and I could use heavy duty joist hangers for the beams, but the nailing pattern on each side the post is the same, so the nails would hit each other.

Any ideas? Splicing the beams into the posts is probably the best way to do it, but given how high the current ceiling is it would take a lot of work to support that celing while I did that

Advertisement

mudslider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 06:02 PM   #2
Roofmaster

Rewards Points: 2,096

I need a picture or a drawing, but I really don't get nails hitting each other. Just alter the pattern a little bit and they wont, unless I really don't understand what you are doing, which is probably the case.

Advertisement

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 06:14 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,032

what jagans said, some photos would certainly aid, I got lost in regards to a 19' tall crawl space .....

"You get what you pay for, and sometimes free costs more!"
GBrackins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 06:17 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 738

A crawl space is not 19' tall.