Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-31-2011, 03:25 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Handrail installation

Hello everyone, this is my first post here. I feel really odd asking this question as I've been a carpenter for 7 years.

I've built tons of stairs and know what I'm doing but we've always had other companies come in and do expensive iron spindles and whatnot.

Well I'm doing an oak railing in my home and the stair section is done, that part was easy. My question is about the horizontal section I have at the landing. I bought oak railing and balusters from Lowes, I got the spindles with the dowel in them.

I'm using a lower rail section with fillet as well. Should I mount the lower rail section on my floor (hardwood) or have it raised about 3"? I like the idea of having it raised 3". With that, do I put the dowel up or down? I didn't use it on the stairs, since it was angled it was easy to wood glue and just use my finish gun for both top and bottom of spindle.

Should I completely attach the balusters to the bottom rail then fasten that in place, then install the top rail over them as a unit (this way seems best for dowel to be at top so I won't need to nail anything)? What holds the spindles from falling out of the top railing....just glue on dowel to baluster and dowel to top rail?

Normally I can build anything but I've never done this before so I want to do it in the best manner possible. BTW the stairs weren't assembled anything like this when I bought the house, there was just a straight run upstairs and a straight run downstairs.

I moved them to enlarge my kitchen/living room and elimanted a tiny 8x8 bedroom by making that corner of the house my stairwell. They hit a landing and turn going up and same as going into the basement.

Last edited by oh'mike; 08-02-2011 at 07:28 AM. Reason: Added spaces
slick88gt is offline   Reply With Quote