Half-Wall/Sub-Wall Around Spiral Staircase - Carpentry - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-14-2010, 10:18 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Half-Wall/Sub-Wall around Spiral Staircase

Hey Everbody!

I have put a spiral staircase in my house, and now am onto the final touches. I need to close in the staircase, so i'm hoping to build a half wall around it, with a nice hard maple cap, and a gate for entry. I have never built a half-wall before, and am weary about how sturdy it will be on the far end away from the wall, with only the floor joists below holding it. Mostly because it will have gone through 2 angled portions by the time it gets there.
Pic is attached. Half wall will go from right side of pic then down and left. Following the outline of the 'hole'. Any advice, tips would be helpful!
Some info = LVL beams underneath and in line with proposed half wall, except for on the 'angled' portion...will need to put in support underneath for that maybe.... floor is 1 7/8ths thick (maple, then 7/8ths pine, then floorboards lol..old house)

Thanks in advance for any advice and knowledge. Can't wait for some replies!

**EDIT*** - Since my camera battery was dead, I took a video to get that image. The Video is here in case it helps
Attached Images

Advertisement

Last edited by Herlihey; 01-14-2010 at 10:26 AM. Reason: Adding Link to Video.
Herlihey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 01:26 PM   #2
Love for Construction

Rewards Points: 250

Are you able to access the floor joists from underneath?