Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-08-2012, 06:27 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Greenhorn help building aquarium stand.

Hello everyone,

Im new to this whole Forum thing so I will ask my question then introduce myself.

I have a 125 gallon fish aquarium i bought off craigslist. Turned out the stand is worse off then they guy saying it just needs finishing work. The tank is like 72.5" long X 18.25 deep X 23" Tall. The stand looks like it may have been home made and my online research brings up tons of 4x4 and 2x4 frames then plywood attached to it. But the guy I bought it from told me that it was up and running before. And by the looks of the top plywood, It looks like water had been on it. So my question is, Can I make a stand with just plywood and have the people at home depot cut it to my measurements? Or is the 2x4 frame the only way to go. And yes... I dont really trust the condition the current stand is. Ill post a link to some pictures I took tonight.

BTW I love the trade/craft but dont have the tools to walk in the deep end. So right now this green horn has a skill saw, hammer, power drill(no clutch), ca carpenters square, and a 6 foot leveler. So at this time I can only splash my hands in your pool. SO I seek your knowledge. THank you guys/gals.

In this picture the 20 lbs door is off and really, this is the back of the stand. The front has all sorts of thin board over the plywood. Dont know why. ANd the only center support is some sort of vertical 2x4 that was added to try and add a door to this thing.
http://i1080.photobucket.com/albums/...D/IMAG0417.jpg

This is to show that its all plywood. The top plywood looks like its .75 or .50 inches thick.
http://i1080.photobucket.com/albums/...D/IMAG0419.jpg