Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Carpentry

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2011, 09:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Framing a basement corner


how do you frame a corner in a basement? Where do I start my first stud so when I create the frame corner all my stud marks down the wall are 16" OC?

griffinst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 10:49 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 99
Default

Framing a basement corner





This is assuming you are using 2x6. If you are using 2X4 the 5-1/2 measurment would be 3-1/2. You can also turn the second stud on the left wall 90 degrees so that it forms an L with the first one and still creates drywall backing. This will allow you to insulate more easily. Hope that makes sense.

edit: The spacing on the third stud in on the left wall is actually in the wrong spot. The studs should sit so that any 16" incriment will land directly in the center of a stud. In this diagram it would land on the edge of the stud. I will try to find or make a better diagram, but this might get you going in the right direction.


Last edited by rubberhead; 03-03-2011 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Diagram is wrong.
rubberhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Framing a basement corner


Thanks for the diagram. I'm using 2x4's. I'm going to do it this way. http://images.meredith.com/diy/image...DW_053_01b.jpg
griffinst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:59 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Framing a basement corner


I noticed that depending on which sheet of drywall you overlap on the inside corner it will NOT be 16" OC. So the studs should actually be 16" OC from where the drywall actually starts, not from the beginning of the stud. Correct?

Last edited by griffinst; 03-03-2011 at 12:59 PM.
griffinst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 01:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 99
Default

Framing a basement corner


Yeah that's a really good point, you can save yourself some cutting by accounting for the thickness of the drywall.
rubberhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 02:02 PM   #6
Remodeler
 
JCarsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 33
Default

Framing a basement corner


[quote=rubberhead;601678]


If you are planning to insulate the wall, the second stud on the first wall should be turned flat- so that you can reach behind and insulate and still have a backer for sheetrock.

Jason Myrlie
www.jcarstenhomes.com
JCarsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:01 PM   #7
old guy contractor
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Maine on Little Sebago
Posts: 857
Default

Framing a basement corner


..........what Carsten said........

tcleve4911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:45 PM   #8
Remodeler
 
JCarsten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Eagan, MN
Posts: 33
Default

Framing a basement corner


Nice visual old guy!

Thanks
JCarsten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:07 PM   #9
Member
 
MikeKy55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 321
Default

Framing a basement corner


One other thing not really asked, but relates to your project framing. You should pop a line on the floor out about 4 to 5 inches and the wall 90 to it. Then check to sure your square. It makes it a lot easier on a lot of the stuff you will be doing if things are square and plumb. Not many basements are going to be truely square.
MikeKy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 07:40 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Framing a basement corner


Thanks Everyone:

Yes I already chalked the lines 5" away from the foundation walls and used a plumb bob to transfer the lines to the joists and used the 3-4-5 method to square everything. Regarding the insulation, I doesn't matter as I'm installing 3/4" polystyrene glued to the foundation walls and then framing over them. Also my foundation has 1" polystyrene on the outside of the foundation along with the watchdog waterproofing spray. I talked to the inspector and he said by code I don't have to add any insulation on the inside, but I want to make it nice and warm so I hope added insulation helps.

On another note I was thinking about installing the BARRICADE subfloor system. http://www.ovrx.com/basement-flooring.html Any pro's / cons or advice anyone has on this? Is it pointless insulating the walls if I'm not insulating the floor?


Last edited by griffinst; 03-04-2011 at 07:29 AM. Reason: edit
griffinst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Framing a basement ledge nlexi912 Building & Construction 8 11-14-2011 04:24 PM
Basement Stair Framing clemson726 Building & Construction 4 07-26-2010 05:09 PM
Framing out basement. Stick frame or firing strips? nickm1024cobra Remodeling 9 07-13-2010 01:15 PM
Suggestion for framing around ducts/pipe in basement xuc318 Building & Construction 2 12-19-2009 06:07 AM
Framing basement wall without covering top plate and rim joist dave11 Building & Construction 5 10-30-2009 08:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.